HKPR District Health Unit Announces Members of the 2022-2026 Board of Health

In Local

New members bring wealth of experience to the Board of Health.

The Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge, District Health Unit (HKPR District Health Unit) has announced new members to the HKPR District Health Unit’s Board of Health effective immediately, with David Marshall being appointed Chairperson and Olena Hankivisky appointed Vice-chair for the Board of Health.

The Board of Health consists of elected officials from the funding municipalities (The City of Kawartha Lakes, County of Haliburton, and Northumberland County) and provincial appointees. HKPR District Health Unit welcomes new and returning members to comprise the 2022-2026 Board of Health, including:

David Marshall, Chairperson – Provincial Appointee

Olena Hankivsky, Vice-chair – Northumberland County

Bob Crate – Northumberland County (returning)

Tracy Richardson – City of Kawartha Lakes (returning)

John Logel – Northumberland County

Mike Perry – City of Kawartha Lakes

TBD – County of Haliburton

The Board of Health ensures that HKPR District Health Unit’s strategic, business and operational plans, policies and activities are consistent with the Ministry of Health’s policy directions as communicated by the Minister of Health. On behalf of the Board of Health, the Medical Officer of Health manages the delivery of public health programs and services in agreement with the mission, vision and values of the HKPR District Health Unit.

“Strengthening partnerships with local community agencies and municipalities will be a focus for the Board of Health this term,” says David Marshall, Chairperson for the HKPR District Health Unit. “We will work together to increase the awareness of the role of public health and the programs and services provided within the HKPR district areas, so we can work together to improve the health of our communities.”

Mr. Marshall was originally appointed to the Board of Health for the HKPR District Health Unit in 2021 by the Lieutenant Governor through a recommendation by the Minister of Health when he applied to the Public Appointments Secretariat. He served as the Interim Chairperson from September 2022 until January 2023 and was officially appointed Chairperson by the new Board of Health members at their first meeting on January 19, 2023.

“With the support and leadership of our Board of Health, we remain committed to addressing health inequities focusing on client-centred approach to program and service accessibility.” says Dr. Natalie Bocking, Medical Officer of Health and Chief Executive Officer for the HKPR District Health Unit. “We look forward to continuing to work collaboratively and efficiently to serve the health priorities of our communities.”

Pete Fisher
Author: Pete Fisher

Has been a photojournalist for over 30-years and have been honoured to win numerous awards for photography and writing over the years. Best selling author for the book Highway of Heroes - True Patriot Love

Join Our Newsletter!

Want to keep up to date on news and events in Northumberland? Subscribe to newsletter!

You may also read!

“At What Point Do the Rights of a Few Impede the Rights of an Entire Community?” States Belleville Police Chief City of Belleville Mayor Neil Ellis held at press conference at Town Hall giving an update on the status


Seizure of Contraband and Unauthorized Items at Warkworth Institution

On February 18, 2024, as a result of the vigilance of staff members, contraband and unauthorized items were seized


Peterborough County OPP – Driver Stated He Was Drugged Before Collision Charged with Impaired (Name Released)

A driver who initially contacted EMS has been charged with Impaired driving after their vehicle went in the ditch


Mobile Sliding Menu

Terms | Privacy |